Split ring resonator Tranmission

Hi,

I am new to lumerical and as start I was trying to simulate what already exist. I used the model based on the paper
https://www.osapublishing.org/josab/abstract.cfm?uri=josab-26-12-b143

My program is attached along with this. I tried with Aluminium and PEC without much success. Parameters like mesh size, frequency,bandwidth,Boundary condition(between pml and symmetric) all were changed and tried but none of them are giving the desired result. Is this a problem with lumerical?

Also while trying to simulate with Al Palik, I am getting engine failure.

Thank youresonator1.fsp (248.2 KB)

Hi,
Would you please upload a file with “Ag- Palik” ? I believe the perfect conductor won’t support the plasmonic resonance modes we are supposed to see.

I recommend you have a look on this thread:

The Bull’s Eye aperture example below is very close to what you want to do. Let is be your starting point. Then replace the circles with your squares and change the wavelength range. Keep me updated on what you get.

https://kb.lumerical.com/en/sp_bullseye_aperture.html

Hi,
This is just an update
I am trying to get Tranmission dips around 0.5,1.6 based on TE or TM mode. I have taken into account the minimum distances between monitor and source, made sure CV1 is used, antisymmetric boundary condition in x, periodic in Y and PML in z. I am getting dips near 1 and 0.4 for TE and 1.6 for TM, I am not even sure they are the actual dips as its too noisy. Also when I increase the simulation time to decrease the noise, I am getting different behavior. May be these questions might answer my problem.

1)Why do responses at particular frequency changes with bandwidth? In this case how will I decide my bandwidth?
2) Can symmetric antisymmetric conditions be kept in oblique incidences or should I keep PML?
3) Why does some times simulation diverge with change in bandwidth?
4) Why is transmission coming negative even when my direction of propagation is forward?