Solar spectrum reflectance of insulating nanoparticles

Hi,

I am new to FDTD and have been using the free trial version of Lumerical 2020 to do the online course and try to replicate this result from the attached paper (A. Zhou et al. Energy and Buildings 138 (2017) 641–647):
Enhanced solar spectral reflectance of thermal coatings through inorganic additives.pdf (1.6 MB)

The authors used Meep and observed that TiO2 nanoparticles (100 nm radius, dielectric constant of 9) embedded in acrylic (dielectric constant of 2.5) paint increase the reflectance for the solar spectrum from around 15% up to 80%.

Unfortunately, I was not able to replicate this result and I have not been able to identify what I am doing wrong (.fsp file attached).
Mie_FDTD_2D.fsp (2.5 MB)
Mie_FDTD_2D_p0.log (10.3 KB)

I would like to know if these simulations are possible and viable to consider acquiring a license.

Thanks in advance.

Obviously this is a random structure. However FDTD solves Maxwell Equations deterministically, meaning, a given structure has a theoretically defined result (when delta_x and delta_t approach zero). Thus without detailed knowledge of the published structure, it will be hard to duplicate, if not possible. Please refer this link for some information: Why my simulaitonm result is different from published paper or experiment?

I would say that FDTD can simulate such devices.

To evaluate the capacity of a software, I would suggest that you do some simple testing. For sophisticated devices, you will need experience, knowledge and refine the settings in order to get reasonable result.

For example, normal simulation will require the PML some distance away from device:
such as half wavelength.

and log file shows simulation terminates too early:

the simulation time should be long enough to make sure the frequency domain result is accurate:

here is why we need longer simulation time
Simulation time and Frequency domain monitors