simulation region in FDTD and DEVICE for lateral p-i-n diode

solarcell
diode

I am new to Lumerical and trying to simulate a lateral p-i-n diode for solar cell application.

I cannot get a proper I-V curve. I need to make sure first about simulation regions in FDTD and DEVICE. Can you please look at the screen shots and see if it is correct?

Hi. Looking at the screenshots, the simulation setup seems to be fine. However, it is hard to tell if everything is okay just by looking at the screenshots. can you share the project files? If you save them in layout mode then the sizes will be smaller. For the DEVICE file, if it is still too large, remove the optical generation object and just attach the .mat file saved by FDTD.

Hi aalam
thanks a lot for reply
files are attached. including script file for Jsc, Voc and eff calculations.

lateral_pindiode.fsp (292.7 KB)
lateral_pindiode.lsf (1.1 KB)

lateral_pindiode.ldev (1.8 MB)
lateralpin_AR.mat (576.9 KB)

Hi. Thanks for sharing the files. The FDTD setup looked fine to me. You may want to use symmetric/anti-symmetric boundary conditions to make the simulation even faster. However this is optional since the simulation is already fast enough.

In the DEVICE file, I noticed a problem with the doping which was responsible for the wrong I-V. In your original setup, the n+ and p+ doping objects were being introduced from the side. Since you are using diffusion doping objects and the doping exponentially falls at a smaller value at the surface of these objects, the doping at the metal-semiconductor interface was very small (see screenshot below).

I have modified the doping objects as shown below to make the doping large at the top surface instead. If you run the simulation now (with and without the optical generation), you will see that the I-V looks like a proper diode I-V. Here is the modified file: lateral_pindiode_MOD.ldev (1.8 MB). Please note that I have modified the bias range as well.