Reflectance for random pyramid structure - solar cell

Hi there,
I’m new to Lumerical and trying to evaluate capabilities.
A silicon solar cell is usually textured with a random array of 0.5-3 micron upright pyramids. I am looking to simulate the structure from the visible, preferably through to the IR (eg. 1-10 micron plane wave illumination at normal incidence). Depending on mesh settings, source parameters, and feature size, I can generate a wide variety of different outcomes; many of them are not physical.
Can anyone take a look at this file and help with some tips to make the simulation somewhat stable while maintaining a reasonable computation time. Note that in the solar cell simulation community, this problem would normally be solved with geometric optics, but given my interest in the IR behaviour, I’m hoping to arrive at a reasonable FDTD wave optical simulation.
(Not) working file is here: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0ByOb3Qnz01HGb0FQcmhrZ3J6TVk
Simeon

Uploading the file directly. Appreciate any help.RanUprPyr-Si-RanUprPyr.fsp (6.0 MB)

Hi @simeon,

I had a look at your file, and the first issue I can see is the boundary conditions: you are using symmetric BC for both x and y, it is not compatible with the polarization of the source. You should set x to anti-symmetric. You can find more information about the symmetric/anti-symmetric BC on the Knowledge Base.

An easy way to remember which BC to use depending on the polarization of the source is to use the colours: the E field (blue arrow on the source object) cannot be parallel to the anti-symmetric BC (green region):

That said, there’s other potential problems in the simulation: