Quantum Dot Laser modelling in Interconnect

Dear community,

Is there any way to simulate QD laser dynamics through the Travelling Wave Laser Model (TWLM) in Interconnect? As far as I know, QD laser models have more than one carrier relations due to wetting layers, excited states, and the ground state. On the contrary, the TWLM refers only to one, so I was wondering if it’s possible to fit a complex QD model, given it’s known, to the simple TWLM? In any case, is it generally possible to simulate a QD laser in Interconnect?

Thanks for your time!

Hello @I.Skandalos,

Thank you for the question. I am not an expert on quantum dot lasers so I cannot say for sure if they can be modelled with the TWLM element. I believe that this should be possible, with the correct choices for the carrier recombination coefficients. I will have to discuss this with my colleagues and get back to you.

Let me know if you have any more questions.

Thanks a lot @kjohnson! I think that a translation needs to be done between QW rate/photon equation that TWLM uses, and a usually more complex model that corresponds to QD lasers. The problem is that in the TWLM page the rate equations are not explicitly mentioned, so should we assume that it follows exactly the equations that are given in the reference (1987 Lowery)?

Hello @I.Skandalos,

I have discussed this with a colleague, and we are still looking into this. We will consult our R&D team and get back to you when we have more answers. Sorry for the delay!

Hello @I.Skandalos,

We’ve spoken with the R&D team about this issue. To fully understand your application, we have a few follow up questions:

• Can dot gain be defined as Lorentzian with peak magnitude linearly dependent on carrier density?
  • Is it important to be able to simulate inhomogeneous spectrum broadening due to variation of optical absorption/gain properties in different dots as well as spectral hole burning?