Problem with calculated transmittance values

Hi all,

Background
I am studying the optical properties of a material, namely trying to obtain the values for absorbance, transmittance and reflectance for a model which is meant to be a leaf. I have a plate with dimensions of 10 000 x 10 000 x 357 microns, and I intend to study the optical properties in the Z dimension for a 1 x 1 x 357 microns piece.

Problem
I have placed the 2 DFT power monitors behind the source and on the other side of the structure. However, I seem to get a value for 0 for the monitor meant to give the value for Transmittance (on the other side of the structure). To investigate, I placed DFT power monitors at intervals from the Plane wave source and I realised that the values for transmittance drops with increasing distance from the source. This is so even for monitors which have been placed in between the source and the structure, which is supposed to be a region of air with background index 1 as seen in the screenshot below.

This decrease in Transmittance values is also observed within the leaf. May I know why this occurs? I have tried increasing the amplitude of the plane wave, but it does not seen to have helped.

Attached is the simulation file for your reference.
Leaf model 1.fsp (354.5 KB)

If anybody could suggest how I should change the any of the simulation settings or rectify the above problem, I would be very grateful. Thank You!

You should use periodic boundary conditions just like:
or use anti-symmetric and symmetric boundary conditions like:

But, in my opinion, the problem that you want to study is not suitable for FDTD simulation.

Hey @151293e

In addition to what @Junyu_Li said; the material fit that you are using is creating loss. Check the Material Explorer next to the run button. I can see that you are using some experimental data for the real part of the index, but have forced the imaginary part to zero.