PAM4 optical transmission - weird curves in eye diagram

Hi everyone,

I’m an exchange student from France in China, currently working on my final research project, dealing about optimizing an optical transmission using PAM4 modulation.
The simulation I built consists in a chain using two PRBS converted via NRZ to be used as the two entries of a MZM modulator, which generated optical signal is received and converted by a photodetector, to be finally displayed on an eye diagram.

Here, you can see the result I obtain by doing so.

As you can see, a weird curve appears and crosses the diagram in the middle. Since an eye diagram represents the signal periodically superimposed on itself, I don’t see any reason for the signal to stop being periodical at a certain time (hence creating this curve)…

Is this a common issue or bug of Interconnect ? Am I doing something wrong ? Is there a way to correct it ?

[edit] I forgot to say that the greater the datarate (here, 25Gbit/s), the more weird curves there are.

Thank you all for your support.

Hi @romain.pujol,

Nice to E-meet you :slight_smile: I think it is possible that this problem is caused by some crappy signal/bits at the beginning or at the end of the signal sequence which is most likely due to system delays. So that you can see several odd bits floating around an ordinary eye. Could you please attach your simulation file and I will have a deep look into it to figure out the exact problem.

I hope this could help.

Thanks for your answer ! Nice to E-meet you too :slight_smile:

Since everything is automatically generated by PRBS, is it avoidable ?
Here is my simulation file : DD-MZM optical 4-PAM.icp (658.9 KB)

Many thanks for your time !

Hi @romain.pujol,