Modeling a Ring Resonator used in an Experiment

I’m a beginner at Lumerical and have been attempting to model the ring resonator used in the following paper.

I have used both FDTD and Mode in an attempt to replicate the paper’s results. I have only been trying to replicate the results shown in figure 1b, the transmission spectrum of a typical silicon ring resonator as used in the experiment.

However, my simulated resonator is not achieving full coupling. I have examined my simulation’s outputs in multiple ways, including S-Parameters and DTF monitors. My exported S-Parameters are generally flat lines and do not reflect the expected output.

I have followed Lumerical tutorials on ring resonators and had no trouble achieving expected results in them.

I’m curious if the issue I’m having is related to light Modes. The paper says that TM mode is used and that is what I set my ports to, but is there more that I need to do?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Ellis

FDTD_RR_Weiss_Junction.fsp (2.7 MB)

Trying to match experimental data on single bus ring resonator
Problem with All pass ring resonator simulation

Dear @kbm337

Since you are trying to replicate the results of Fig.1b of the attached paper, I guess the best approach will be to use varFDTD. I have started making a simulation file, but please use the proper material and adjust the gap as is mentioned in the paper. You should be able to obtain the similar results as the paper, but please let me know if you had any problem.

ring_resonator_BK.lms (623.2 KB)

Thanks

I have begun using the file you provided to simulate this ring resonator in Mode. I changed the gap to 300nm, the width to 500nm and the height to 270nm as I have interpreted from the paper. If I am interpreting it wrong, let me know.