Integrated SPR Bio-Sensing

eme
bio-sensing

Hi,
I am try to reproduce the results of this paper:
Hybrid metallic ion-exchanged waveguides for SPR biological sensing
I am still new to SPR (Surface Plasmon Resonance) based structures. Since the length of the structure reaches 1000 um, I decided to try this on EME solver. I got initial results similar to figure 9 (wavelength shift).
Figure 9 :
Generated figure:

1. I need help understanding why this structure basically has resonance at this specific wavelength.
  2. I can’t find the first 2 modes at 700 nm as reported in the paper. I only find the third mode. (True this is the mode that has the largest overlap with the input but still I am curious to know where the other modes are).
  3. I am not an expert with EME simulations so are there any suggestions to improve the simulation, please?

Thanks in advance!

Hi Aya,

Q1. I need help understanding why this structure basically has resonance at this specific wavelength.
A1. As is mentioned in the paper, the resonance here refers to a sharp dip in the transmission spectrum, which is a result of the waveguide mode better coupling to the plasmonic mode at that specific wavelength. If you look at the hybrid modes in the detection zone, you will see the modes having multiple peaks due to the coupling of waveguide mode to the surface plasmonic mode.

Q2. I can’t find the first 2 modes at 700 nm as reported in the paper. I only find the third mode. (True this is the mode that has the largest overlap with the input but still I am curious to know where the other modes are).
A2. It is difficult to tell why this is the case without looking at your simulation settings. But it would be worth checking whether you have fine enough meshes over the gold layer.

Q3. I am not an expert with EME simulations so are there any suggestions to improve the simulation, please?