How to define Graphene in normal rectangle or 2D rectangle?

Hi,

I am trying to run the simulation from http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/document/7573642/
The materials used are glass, copper and graphene.

The questions:

1. I’ve run both models with C (graphene) normal rectangle and 2D rectangle. But I can’t the result for 2D rectangle.Attached are my simulation files sp_film_resonance graphene.fsp (278.2 KB)
    sp_film_resonance 2d graphene.fsp (384.0 KB)
    Please advice.

2. How to define the structures of 2D rectangle since I only knew the refractive index of graphene?

3. Or should I try to run design in this model ? https://kb.lumerical.com/en/index.html?nanophotonics.html
    How to use sweep parameter for this example ?

Thank you

Hi
Sorry to inform that I’m new to lumerical so I really appreciate if someone could take a look at the simulation and give any suggestions.

Thank you

Sorry for the delayed reply. I have checked your simulation files and for the 2D simulation, I noticed that the x position of the graphene sheet was not placed directly at the surface of the copper. Once I moved the sheet to x=-30 nm the simulation no longer diverged.

For the case of the 3D simulation, a mesh override region should be placed over the graphene rectangle in order to make sure that the mesh is fine enough to resolve the thickness of the layer. I would also recommend doing some convergence by reducing the dx mesh step size until the results stop changing to make sure the results are accurate.

It’s unfortunate that the paper that you have does not have any additional information about the graphene material in order to set up the conductive graphene material, however you might be able to search for related devices and see if you can find any further information from another paper. There is some more detail about the material models for graphene here:
https://kb.lumerical.com/en/index.html?other_application_graphene_simulation_tips.html