Generation rate shifted and low current

charge
device
organicphotovoltaic

Hello,

I am new to the software and i am working on a solar cell basic structure.
The generation rate while imported from FDTD to CHARGE appears to be shifted. I tried to adjust the dimensions to fit the semiconductor regions but i am getting very low emitter current values (range of 10e-19). the result is not affected by any changes.
knowing that i am not using any doping, as I am using organic materials which are already internally blended and doped.
could you please assist in this.
Thanks

Hi @kh.asma, the imported generation data should not be shifted automatically and should not require any manual shifting. One sure way to check this will be to calculate the mesh only and then look at the result (grid) available in the solver region. The result will contain the generation rate (Goptext) that is getting applied to your device and you will be able to verify whether it is getting applied properly or not. Since you are getting a small current, my guess would be that your manual shifting has placed the imported data outside the simulation region and that the generation rate is not getting included in the simulation.

Since you mentioned that you are using organic material in your device I am curious as to how you are modeling the organic material since DEVICE does not support simulation with organic materials by default. May be your organic material model is not getting defined properly which is causing this issue?

Thank you for the reply. I managed to get the generation rate placed in the (x,y,z) zero center also with my structure centered in zero. Thus, no shifting occurs, but i still get the size of the generation rate smaller than the one in FDTD.