Finding the fundamental mode in a curved wave guide

mode

Hi,

I’m very new to Lumerical but I think I have gotten somewhat of a hang of the very basics. I’m not sure that this is the correct category for my problem, so please let me know if I should post my problem somewhere else.

I’m using Lumerical MODE, in which I have set up a fiber with a core/cladding radius of 10/200 micrometers and refractive indices of 1.4509/1.449 and have set it to have a bent radius of 12 cm and I’m studying the modes for a wavelength of 1.0482 micrometers. At first when I only had 20 trial modes, I could not find the mode that was confined to the core. I then tried to define a range of values of the refractive index that the solver could sweep over. I just tried 1.448-1.4509 and eventually I got the message that the maximum number of modes was reached. I then looked in the list of the solutions and found that the mode that was most confined to the core was mode number 81 and 82. My question is if there is a way to restrict the solver to only look for modes in the vicinity of the core or some other way of achieving this? As mode 80 and 83 are not confined to the core at all, but don’t differ much in effective refractive index (they have 1.449930 and 1.449907 respectively) from mode 81 and 82 (they have 1.449922 and 1.449919 respectively), I hope that there is a better way than to set a great span to sweep across.

Also, I wonder if it’s possible to export data of the mode fields (i.e. the amplitude of the mode of interest), effective refractive index and overlap? My last question is if it is possible to make a script or something similar to sweep over different values for the core/cladding refractive index as well as the wavelength and then export the results?

Thanks in advance
Robert

Hi Robert,