Electrostatics simulation of Periodic structure in Device

device

Hi all,

I’m new to Device, and I’m currently trying to use Device to simulate the electric field distribution in a periodic structure. I’ve done a test run, but the result doesn’t seem to be right (see the attached file).

The structure is simple, it’s just periodic electrodes on top of an oxide layer. The electrodes are periodic in y direction, and the period is 5 um. I applied +400 V to the electrode on the left, and the electrode on the right is ground (0 V). I want to know the electric filed distribution in both xz plane (side view) and xy plane (top view). I wonder how can I correctly setup the boundary conditions and mesh for this periodic structure?

Thanks a lot for the help!

efield_xzplane_test1

test_efieldsimulation.ldev (5.8 MB)

Dear @Joyzzz,

Can you elaborate on what seems to be wrong with the field results? What is exactly the result that you’d expect?

Regarding the periodic structure, DEVICE does not have any boundary conditions that can account for the periodic nature of the structure. First you need to consider the expected electrostatic behavior of the device you are trying to simulate. If you expect the field distribution to vary in a quasi 2D manner (not being affected by the adjacent unit cells) then you can only simulate one unit cell in the 2D simulation similar to the setup in your file. However, if you expect otherwise, then you’d need to perform a 3D simulation including a few unit cells but most likely only consider the results for unit cells closer to the center since they are more representative of the unit cells in a periodic structure.
Hope this helps!

Hi @mmahpeykar,

Thanks for the reply!

Can you elaborate on what seems to be wrong with the field results? What is exactly the result that you’d expect?