Assymetric temperature profile in DEVICE photothermal calculation

Hi All,

I was calculating the temperature of plasmonic structures induced by photothermal heating and noticed that the results I output is somehow always assymetric (as below, why the temperature on the right side looks smaller than on the left side?). I wonder could you please give me some insights on what might be wrong?

I used FDTD to calculate the absorption profile of the plasmonic structure and then input the absorption profile into DEVICE to calculate the temperature profile, as instructed on Lumerical website: https://kb.lumerical.com/en/sp_photothermal-heating-in-plasmo.html

Thanks!
Zhaoxia

BTW, the structure is periodic structure of gold nanoparticle arrays on glass substrate (not direct touch).

Dear @zhaoxiaq

Can you please upload your simulation files (.fsp and .ldev) for a review?

Thanks

Sure! Please see attached for the .fsp and .ldev files. I’m new to DEVICE but have been bothered by this problem for a long time. Thanks very much for your help!
4AuNP_PNIPAM3x3Array_H20_Pabs.fsp (309.1 KB)
4AuNP_PNIPAM3x3Array.ldev (7.7 MB) (heat solver is disabled to shrink the size of the file to below 8000K).

Dear @zhaoxiaq

Regarding your optical simulations in FDTD, I recommend you to use periodic BC along the x and y direction to avoid edge effects. Doing so, absorbed power, obtained from analysis group, looks symmetric between different unit cells.