All-optical Switch Based on Nonlinear Plasmonic Mach-Zehnder Interferometer

fdtd
nonlinear
switch
plazmonic
mach-zehnder

Hi
I’ve been trying to simulate this paper (New All-optical Switch Based on the Local Nonlinear Plasmonic Mach-Zehnder Interferometer Waveguides, Yaw-Dong Wu, Sheng-Rong Hong, and Tien-Tsorng Shih
PIERS Proceedings, 452 - 454, August 12-15, Stockholm, 2013)
but can’t get the results! I’m new to lumerical so I’d appreciate if someone could take a look at my simulation and see whats the problem!
here’s my fdtd:
with_nonlinear_arm.fsp (270.7 KB)
thank you

Hi sos007,

I had a look at the referenced paper as well as your simulation file.
I could notice a number of issues with your simulation settings:

1. The reference does not give all the necessary parameters for the waveguide design. There is no mention of the angle and the length of the waveguide branches. I have created a structure group [ 3065_structure.fsp ] taking these parameters into account:

2. The χ(3) value in the reference is in [esu unit]
(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Centimetre–gram–second_system_of_units#Derivation_of_CGS_units_in_electromagnetism) (cm^2/statvolt^2). But you need to convert it to SI uniti (m^2/V^2) as this is the unit used in Lumerical.

3. The reference does not clearly describe what kind of source is used, but, a mode source seems to be a correct choice for your device.

I would recommend you modifying your simulation settings as suggested above and seeing how it goes.

Thanks,

Shin-Sung

Dear skim
I modified the simulation setting as you recommended. though I’ve some questions:

1. X(3) after changing it to SI unit is 43.2 * 10^-2 . is that right?! but you had it as 3e-20 in lumerical materials!
  2. The length of L5 is not long enough to interact with nonelinear arm (L4) !
    3)mode source didn’t seem to work, so I used Gaussian Source instead.